Education grads and mentors honored at pinning ceremony

2013-05-19T14:00:00Z Education grads and mentors honored at pinning ceremonyBy the Star-Tribune staff Casper Star-Tribune Online
May 19, 2013 2:00 pm  • 

Thirty University of Wyoming/Casper College Center education graduates received pins honoring their completion of a semester-long public school residency at a recent reception. The graduates then presented their mentor teachers with UW/CC Center key chains as a gesture of gratitude for fostering their growth as educators.

The faculty speaker was John Kambutu, associate professor and chairperson of educational studies, followed by the student speaker Wade Holmes. Other guest speakers at the event were Dean of UW College of Education Kay Persichitte, and director of the Help Yourself Academy Jennifer Grooms.

After presenting Manor Heights elementary teacher Brenda Foy with the Mentor Teacher of the Year Award, and Pineview elementary teacher Mindy Linch with the Practicum Mentor Teacher of the Year Award, partner schools facilitator Marcia Patton began the pinning ceremony with words of appreciation to building administrators, mentors, families, and friends.

Jennifer Forrester, Keonghee Tao Han, Lydiah Nganga, and Jason Katzmann, supervising faculty members of UW/CC Center education students in residency, led the pinning of graduates and their mentor teachers.

The following students and their mentors, listed with the schools in which they fulfilled their residency requirements, were pinned:

Park Elementary School: Jacqueline Gilmore with Sarah Rowland; Kaytlin Parke with Cindy Hill and Nicole Dundas; Kelsey Underwood with Laura McCleary; Jonathan Urman with Barbara Maguire; and Alexandria Young with Sue Berchenbriter.

Sagewood Elementary School: Joseph Frieze with Susie Strom; Erin Gazda with Shawn Galles; Elizabeth Keyser with Toni Billings; Michelle Knoll with Jennifer Doyle; Lindley Kugler with Carrie Patterson; and Kelsey Mitchell with Brandy Bentz.

Manor Heights Elementary School: Pennie Jo Caldwell with Shannon Kersenbrock; Shanae Hedlund with Shireen Stafford; Justin Lamb with Brenda Foy; and Yolanda Winters with Brent Greene.

Paradise Valley Elementary School: Katherine Junge with Kristin Landry; and Cereja Parsons with Christine Horken.

Oregon Trail Elementary School: Michelle Farnsworth with Cheri Eastwood; Wade Holmes with Wendy Johnson; Nanci Madsen with Christy Jourgensen; Connie Rodgers with Lisa Sexton; and Tia Sternberg with Dixie Bowen.

Bar Nunn Elementary School: Robert Gilmore, Jr. with Randy Ridgeway; Alicia Murphy with DeAnn Russell; Kayla Eaton with Lenay Appleton; Lyndee Henrichsen with Zach Becker; and Heidi Barry with Megan Dye.

Natrona County High School: Rene Hansen with Christina Baker.

Centennial Junior High School: Shona Ross with Shane Palmer.

Community News editor Sally Ann Shurmur can be reached at 307-266-0520;; read her blog at; or follow her on Twitter @WYOSAS

Copyright 2015 Casper Star-Tribune Online. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Untitled Document

Civil Dialogue

We provide this community forum for readers to exchange ideas and opinions on the news of the day. Passionate views, pointed criticism and critical thinking are welcome. Name-calling, crude language and personal abuse are not welcome. Moderators will monitor comments with an eye toward maintaining a high level of civility in this forum. Our comment policy explains the rules of the road for registered commenters.

If your comment was not approved, perhaps...

  1. You called someone an idiot, a racist, a dope, a moron, etc. Please, no name-calling or profanity (or veiled profanity -- #$%^&*).

  2. You rambled, failed to stay on topic or exhibited troll-like behavior intended to hijack the discussion at hand.

  3. YOU SHOUTED YOUR COMMENT IN ALL CAPS. This is hard to read and annoys readers.

  4. You have issues with a business. Have a bad meal? Feel you were overcharged at the store? New car is a lemon? Contact the business directly with your customer service concerns.

  5. You believe the newspaper's coverage is unfair. It would be better to write the editor at, or call Editor Jason Adrians at 266-0545 or Content Director David Mayberry at 266-0633. This is a forum for community discussion, not for media criticism. We'd rather address your concerns directly.

  6. You included an e-mail address or phone number, pretended to be someone you aren't or offered a comment that makes no sense.

  7. You accused someone of a crime or assigned guilt or punishment to someone suspected of a crime.

  8. Your comment is in really poor taste.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick


Featured Businesses

Latest Offers