CHEYENNE - University of Wyoming senior Megan Degenfelder of Casper has been elected president of the Associated Students of the University of Wyoming, according to election results released Friday.

Degenfelder, along with vice-presidential candidate Ty McNamee, a junior from Laramie, won with 52 percent of the vote.

They beat sophomore Alex Brink of Loveland, Colo. and junior Jaryd Unangst of Casper for president and vice-president, respectively.

The ASUW president leads UW's student government and serves as a non-voting member of the university's board of trustees.

Voter turnout was 25.6 percent, which ASUW election committee chairman Bryan Dugas said was good for a school the size of UW.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.