Wyoming Republicans have a complex process for picking the state's 29 presidential delegates to the 2012 Republican National Convention in Tampa, Fla., this August. In case you're wondering, the process plays out in three steps:

Step 1: Precinct caucuses

Any registered Republican can attend to elect county convention delegates and vote in a non-binding presidential straw poll.

Step 2: County conventions

  • Dates: March 6-10 (exact dates vary by county)
  • Presidential delegates elected: 12

Twelve counties will elect presidential delegates at their county convention: Big Horn, Natrona, Carbon, Johnson, Laramie, Lincoln, Niobrara, Sublette, Park, Platte, Washakie, Weston. The remaining counties will elect alternate delegates (as well as Laramie County, which gets to pick both a delegate and an alternate). County conventioneers will also elect delegates to the state convention.

Step 3: State Republican convention

  • Dates: April 12-14
  • Presidential delegates elected: 14

State convention delegates will elect 14 at-large presidential delegates during this year’s convention at Little America in Cheyenne. The at-large presidential delegates don’t need to be state convention delegates.


Under Wyoming Republican Party bylaws, three party officials are automatically named Republican National Convention delegates: state party chairwoman Tammy Hooper, national committeeman Greg Schaefer, and national committeewoman Jan Larimer

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.