For the second year in a row – and the fifth time in the last six years – no Wyoming Cowboys were selected in the NFL draft.

There were 254 players selected in this year’s draft, which concluded Saturday with the Indianapolis Colts selecting tight end Justice Cunningham of South Carolina with the final pick. Central Michigan offensive tackle Eric Fisher of Central Michigan went No. 1 to the Kansas City Chiefs.

Five Cowboys -- offensive linemen Nick Carlson and Kyle Magnuson, linebackers Ghaali Muhammad and Korey Jones and defensive tackle Mike Purcell -- are expected to sign as free agents within the next week. Last year, defensive back Tashaun Gipson (Cleveland Browns), running back Alvester Alexander (Chicago Bears) and linebacker Brian Hendricks (Washington Redskins) all went undrafted but signed free agent contracts shortly after the draft.

Gipson finished with 33 tackles and one interception last season, while Alexander finished the year on the Colts’ practice squad. Hendricks’ season ended when he blew out his knee in the Redskins’ mini-camp.

Chris Prosinski was the last UW player to be drafted. The Buffalo native was selected in the fourth round (No. 121 overall) by the Jacksonville Jaguars in 2011. Prosinski started seven games for the Jaguars at safety last year and finished with 53 tackles and one interception.



(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.