WyoVarsity logo


It will be a battle of the regional champs as Wright’s Preston Seamands takes on Kemmerer’s Dawson Schramm after both freshmen pinned their way to the finals.


Glenrock sophomore is in position to defend his state title, but he’ll need to beat Lusk’s William Fish, who upset Cokeville’s Lochlyn Teichert in the finals, to do so.


In a rematch of the East Regional final, Dylan Humes from Moorcroft will take on Isaac Ronning from Burns/Pine Bluffs. Humes pinned Ronning the last time they met.


Glenrock’s Joe Taylor is out to defend his state title, while Ammon Teichert is hoping to extend Cokeville’s streak of having at least one individual champ to 16 years.


Defending state champ Donny Proffit pinned his way to the finals, where he’ll meet Moorcroft’s Parker Seeley, who won by pinfall, a major decision.


Glenrock’s Garrett Schwindt is hoping for a replay of the East Regional championship match, when he won the title over Lingle-Fort Laramie’s Todd Walker, whom he meets in the finals.


Another rematch, this time putting West Regional champ Alex Schlattmann from Greybull/Riverside against West Regional runner-up Kaden Kranendonk from Big Piney.


Two regional champs meet in the finals when Saratoga senior Thomas Ingraham takes on Moorcroft freshman Rowdy Pfeil.


West Regional runner-up Cordell Viehweg from Cokeville gets another shot at Kemmerer’s Gavin Julander, who pinned him in last week’s championship match.


Kemmerer puts a fourth wrestler into the finals in Hayden Walker, who pinned his way through. He’ll take on Rocky Mountain’s Nathan Hatch, who upset Boe Clayson from Burns/Pine Bluffs in the semis.


Moorcroft’s Tucker Allison knocked off East Regional champ John Sullivan in the semis and gets West Regional champ Rick Nate from Cokeville as his reward.


Defending state champ Solomon Petz from Moorcroft pinned his way to the finals and will take on West Regional champ Coy Trainor from Lovell.


It will be a battle of regional champs when Sundance’s Yuli Viergets (the Beast of the East) battles Rocky Mountain’s Garrett Vezain (the Best of the West).


Tanner Feehan from Moorcroft knocked off previously unbeaten Jaret Collins from Lovell in the semis and now meets Glenrock’s Jadon Williams for the title.

Star-Tribune staff


Jack Nowlin returned to the Star-Tribune in 2007 after eight years covering Michigan State University athletics. A Wyoming native, and a graduate of Jeffrey City High School and the University of Wyoming, Jack serves as the Star-Tribune’s sports editor.

Load comments