Subscribe for 33¢ / day
WyoVarsity logo


Star Valley’s Trey Waldron and Tristan Hicks were looking at an all-Braves final, but they needed to get by Reid Holmes (Newcastle/Upton) and Domanic Hartley (Worland) in the semis first.


East vs. West as Newcastle/Upton’s Trayton Dawson took on Star Valley’s Spencer Angell and Douglas’ Kadin Matthews faced off with Riverton freshman Ridge Briggs.


Three from the West — Grayson Hicks (Star Valley), Nathan Redman (Lander) and Hagen Lamoreaux (Lyman) — were joined by Trey Rodriguez (Torrington) from the East.


Defending state champ Cole Reiner from Buffalo and West Regional champ Gavin Patterson from Star Valley advanced as did Colten Ellison from Lyman and Nathan Gifford from Cody.


Regional champs Reese Karst (Powell) and Hunter Elmer (Buffalo) moved into the semis, where they were set to face Jon Sanchez (Cody) and Gage Bennett (Rawlins).


Strong showing by the West as Brandon Claye (Star Valley), Palmer Schafer (Lander) and David Plummer (Cody) all advanced, as did Ben Elmlinger (Buffalo).


East vs. West again with Dylan Sandstedt from Douglas taking on Trevor Clark from Star Valley and Jake Waterson from Buffalo meeting William Atnip from Lander.


An East-West final was set as Wyatt Corley from Newcastle/Upton and Gabe Atwell from Buffalo met in one semifinal and Koa DeLong from Star Valley and Dan Beaudrie from Cody met on the other side of the bracket.


Three of the four semifinalists are from Fremont County in Lander’s DeAundre Velarde and Riverton’s Dino Baldes and Koa Rodriguez, along with Star Valley’s Bridger Vandeburg.


Two more Star Valley wrestlers advanced in Dylan Brog and Matt Hunting; joining them are JD Smith from Rawlins and Ty Dearcorn from Powell.


East vs. West with Cody Pinkerton (Douglas) taking on Luke Anderson (Star Valley) and Teigan Marchant (Newcastle/Upton) facing off with Hayden Wempen (Riverton).


More East-West fun as Buffalo’s Tanner Verplancke battled Powell’s Zach Easum and Worland’s Alex Beck took on Lyman’s Dryden Menck, the defending state champ.


The big guys all pinned their way to the semifinals, led by undefeated Josh Dawson of Star Valley and East Regional champ Morgan Tigner from Worland; Riverton’s Zach McIntosh and Cody’s Eric Flores are also here.


West Regional champ McCabe Smith from Star Valley was set to face defending state cham Nate Kern from Worland while East Regional champ Bryce Womack from Newcastle/Upton had to take on Lane Johnson from Torrington.

Star-Tribune staff


Sports Editor

Jack Nowlin returned to the Star-Tribune in 2007 after eight years covering Michigan State University athletics. A Wyoming native, and a graduate of Jeffrey City High School and the University of Wyoming, Jack serves as the Star-Tribune’s sports editor.

Load comments