Parker Breding

Parker Breding of Edgar, Montana, rides Summit Pro Rodeo's Turnabout for 92.5 points to win the first performance of the Cody Stampede on Monday.

Barrel racer KL Spratt of Lysite set the standard Monday in the first performance of the Cody Stampede.

Spratt had a 17.39-second run to take the early lead in the world-famous rodeo, which is celebrating its 100th anniversary this year. Coralee Spratt, KL’s cousin, sits third with a 17.89.

Another in-state cowboy, Kaycee steer wrestler Chancy Winsor, is second after his 7.9-second run. Heath Thompson of Enola, Arkansas, leads the event with a 6.1.

The Cody Stampede is one of 26 rodeos across the country that comprise “Cowboy Christmas,” which runs from June 30-July 9.

Other Cody Stampede leaders after Monday’s first performance:

  • Bareback bronc rider Taylor Broussard with an 85-point ride on Burch Pro Rodeo’s Pip Squeak.
  • Saddle bronc rider Colt Gordon with an 85.5 on Burch Pro Rodeo’s Lunatic from Hell.
  • Bull rider Parker Breding with a 92.5 on Summit Pro Rodeo’s Turnabout.
  • Tie-down roper Kalai Nobrigo with a 14.4-second run.
  • Team ropers Clay Smith and Jade Corkill with a time of 4.8 seconds.

Rodeo action began Sunday in Cody with Boudreaux Campbell winning his second consecutive Cody/Yellowstone Xtreme Bulls competition.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

The Crockett, Texas, bull rider took the title with a 92.5-point ride on Frontier Rodeo Company’s B2 to pocket nearly $5,500. Campbell entered the week No. 8 in the Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association world standings.

Two bull riders who competed in last month’s College National Finals Rodeo in Casper, finished second and third, respectively. Parker McCown was just behind Campbell with a 92 while Swearingen took third with a 90.5.

Swearingen, who rode for Panola Junior College, won the national championship while Hill College’s McCown finished fourth. Swearingen is currently No. 16 in the PRCA standings.

PRCA leaders

Heading into Cowboy Christmas, Ty Blasingame, who currently lists Casper as his hometown, sits atop the team roping heading standings. Blasingame, who teamed with Kyle Lockett, to win RodeoHouston earlier this year, has won more than $73,000 this season. Lockett sits atop the heeling standings with $86,561.

Also setting the pace in the world standings are:

  • Bareback bronc rider Kaycee Feild from Genola, Utah, with nearly $116,000. Former Central Wyoming College cowboy Ty Breuer is fourth with $82,464 and Ranchester’s Seth Hardwick is 20th with $27,259.
  • Steer wrestler Ty Erickson from Helena, Montana, with $102,142.
  • Saddle bronc rider Ryder Wright from Beaver, Utah, with nearly $150,000. Former Sheridan College cowboy Zeke Thurston is second with more than $120,000 while Hillsdale’s Brody Cress is No. 31 with more than $21,000.
  • Five-time defending world champion bull rider Sage Kimzey from Strong City, Oklahoma, with nearly $137,000.
  • Tie-down roper Michael Otero from Weatherford, Texas, with more than $83,000. Recent CNFR champion Haven Meged from Miles City, Montana, is No. 6 with more than $58,000 and 2018 CNFR champ Ty Harris is No. 12 with more than $46,000.
  • Barrel racer Nellie Miller from Cottonwood, California, with nearly $84,000.
  • Caleb Smidt from Bellville, Texas, leads the all-around with nearly $94,000.

Get News Alerts delivered directly to you.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Sports Editor

Jack Nowlin returned to the Star-Tribune in 2007 after eight years covering Michigan State University athletics. A Wyoming native, and a graduate of Jeffrey City High School and the University of Wyoming, Jack serves as the Star-Tribune’s sports editor.

Load comments